Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Globalization has ushered an era of consumerism and that inevitably became part and parcel of people’s everyday life. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of this approach and provide a suitable conclusion. On the positive side, the quest for consumer goods boosts the economy and the standard of living. The life becomes more luxurious and comfortable. In addition to that, it helps in improving the productivity in terms of labor a social class comprising those who do manual labor or work for wages labour, as people tend to work more in the urge how long something has existed age of buying goods. In addition to that, the company gets to appoint more employees to meet the growing demands and thereby increasing the work opportunities and a more advanced economy. As roses are accompanied by thorns, in the similar sense, people tend to become more materialistic, or in other words, they become workaholic.It will also bring additional tension and stress, thereby affecting the mental status of the person. Another drawback is regarding the health. For example, the overuse of mobile phones can lead to neural disorders, as it emits radio waves that can interfere with the neural mechanism of the body. Another important factor is that people might not hesitate in doing illegitimate works to buy the goods they want. The consumerism is undoubtedly rife in the modern society. The mass production of luxury goods, the saturation of media with advertisements and promotions for branded products and services, and even rising levels of personal debts signal that more people are buying goods excessively. In conclusion, consumer goods seem to be an integral part of a person’s everyday life. But considering the presented facts, I believe that this dependence certainly brings more harm than doing good.