for centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. with the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

We can't imagine the world without the computers anymore. They became part and parcel of our lives since the beginning of their introduction. Once considered a sophisticated skill set, computer skills, nowadays became indispensable. We are seeing these technical literacy as a mandatory subject added to the curriculum as early as beginning primary education. I strongly advocate the necessity to consider computer literacy as a fourth skill and should definitely be added to the education system. Firstly, the fundamental communication process has been completely shifted from conventional methods like mail, telegram, newspapers to email, SMS, and digitalised news accessed through computing devices. This emphasizes the imperative need for the related literacy right from the childhood. For example, in order to apply for a job these days, we need to have an email along with a digitalised CV as mandatory, so that employers can communicate with potential candidates seeking the employment as quickly as possible. On the other hand, to perform basic day to day tasks including but not limited to, shopping, banking, buying flight tickets and book hotel online, these skills are essential. For example, in the instance of transferring funds between bank accounts, it used to take days, if not weeks. However, it is almost instantaneous these days when it comes to money transfers. This is only possible with the introduction of these super computing devices. Hence, it demands individuals to be equipped with this technical familiarity. To conclude, we can't imagine everyday life without the understanding of how to operate these smart devices as they are embedded in each one's life so deeply. Over the period of time these skills emerged as essential and mandatory for the human way of life. Hence, I strongly support the idea of adding computer skills to the core subjects we learn during our education.