Some suggest that young people should take a job for few years between school and university. Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Some people recommend that the school graduates should work for a few years before enrolling universities. This essay will suggest that self-identification is the biggest benefit of this and losing belief to study is the principal drawback. These days the quality of tertiary education is suffering due to its students who could not choose their occupation properly. According to a recent student satisfaction survey of universities conducted by the Mongolian National Statistical Agency, two third of the respondents answered that they are dissatisfied with their current study because of their incorrect choice of the profession. Additionally, it is expected that after their graduation, most of them might not work as their professional major. However, gap years may allow younger people to recognize themselves by knowing their real interest as well as needs while experiencing different jobs. In my case, one of my university classmates used to work prior to study the university. Therefore, he could understand the profession which is highly suitable for him, and graduated from the university with high distinction along with several job offers. Despite these advantages, some students are persuaded for getting a job instead of go directly to higher education. Although they wish to initially acquire a bachelor degree after working for a time, most of them lose gradually their hope to study at a higher level education due to work place adaptation. An illustration of this is that one third of students who take years off never study at universities, as stated by the Ministry of Education and Culture of Mongolia’s annual report. Moreover, my grandfather could not enter the tertiary education because of year off even though receiving an unconditional offer from Lomonosov Moscow State University. In conclusion, taking years off might be advantageous if students use it for identifying themselves effectively, however, they should be careful since it can be reducing their motivation to study for further education.