Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology. discuss both views and give your opinion

Good choice of courses actually determines generally how proficient someone would perform later on in career life. Some individuals believe that the undergraduate students should be given the opportunity to study science and technology courses that will be relevant later on in life, others are of the opinion that these students should only take courses of their choice. I am of the opinion that with the advancement in technology and sciences, students should only consider courses related to this field. Choosing a career pathway should only be determined by the student. This is because when this decision is made freely by the student based on an interest and not on cohesion, such student will perform excellently in the career life. For example, my mum had wanted me to study medicine, which I never had an interest in, even after I gained admission into the medical school, I had to change into nursing which I have a passion for because my performance was poor which was likened to lack of interest. This actually shows that giving undergraduates the freedom to make career choices improves proficiency in the ladder of career pathway. However, despite the fact that students should be given the liberty to make choices of courses to study, it is actually more beneficial if these students should channel their interest in courses relating to science and technology. The increasing advancement in technology has called for more body of knowledge and in order to meet up with this demand, having more professions in this field will be worthwhile. For instance, in China, about 90 percent of courses being taught in schools are all science-related and today China ranks the most advanced countries worldwide. In conclusion, although allowing students to decide for themselves the courses to study enhance sound performance later in life career life. Nevertheless, having students studying more about science and technology courses will be more beneficial in the world that is ever-increasing in technology.