In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There exists a tendency seen in some nations that resources should be allocated into the construction of new railing systems for high speed trains moving between urban areas, which is of an urgent need. However, a great number of people assert that the national budgets should be spent on enhancing the current public transport’s quality. The two sides of this issue would be discussed as follows and I would like to suggest my own viewpoint. In the first place, there are several arguments supporting the idea that national budget should be spent on improving the current transport infrastructures. The most striking reason is that it could be extravagantly expensive with regards to constructing an entirely new system of railroads. Secondly, forests could be destroyed and many homeowners have to move to another place in order to make room for the construction of railways. In addition, a majority of people have been increasingly dependent on the currently transporting systems and are rather reluctant to use something new which has not been proven to be efficient and effective. Altogether, it is comprehensible that why money should be allocated in making the existing transportation systems better. On the other hand, I am personally in all agreement with the statement that it is advisable to give the top priority to build brand new railroads. Firstly, with this new construction, people would have a wider range of options when it comes to means of transport, hence, mitigating the problems they might face when travelling. To be more precise, instead of taking a car trip to commute, white-collar workers could save a tremendous amount of time as well as not have to suffer from the anger and stress stemming from traffic congestion when using rapid trains. Secondly, new railroad lines would gradually change the long-established habit of people who have been familiar with traditional means of transport such as cars or motorbikes, which adversely affect the atmosphere. Since trains are usually more environmentally-friendly compared to those vehicles, therefore, in long terms, the pressing air pollution issue would probably be alleviated if people could switch into using them more frequently. In conclusion, I favour the statement that national resources should be spent on building more railway systems for a better future of not only citizens but also their nations.