Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums have long been known as a great place for people to learn more about the history as well as enjoy the mysterious beauty of artefacts. However, there exist several museums that require an amount of money called entrance fees. In my opinion, this action is a two-sided affair having both negative and positive aspects which will be discussed as follows. In the first place, one benefit of the admission fees charged by museums is that this amount of money collected from visitors would act as an additional aid for the museums’ maintenance. Obviously, in order to run a museum displaying and exhibiting precious and valuable items back in the day, many sources of capital are required to be spent on keeping museums alive. For example, highly-skilful and proficient workers would be needed when it comes to abolishing or cleansing the museums’ belongings because these artefacts can be easily damaged and broken by carelessness. Therefore, museum’s managers will have to pay them salaries for their work and it could be expensive as this type of job is done usually on a daily basis. This is when entrance fees might significantly alleviate the burden of sustaining the museums’ operation and mitigate the number of fees that museums have to bear. On the other hand, an obligatory entrance fee might be a discouraging factor making people less interested in paying a visit to a museum. It is commonly thought that museums are like history public classes where people can learn more about the prehistoric life and have a better insight into the past. Thus, it is more reasonable to obtain this knowledge free of charge, like park benches or public libraries. If people have to pay money to do so, they might feel reluctant to choose museums as a way of learning and entertaining. In addition, a great number of people believe that the government should be responsible in ensuring the sustaining fees of museums are paid in full. In other words, visitors have no responsibility to pay for any fees. In conclusion, I personally find that the benefits from charging people for admission is outweighed by its drawbacks. If museums need capital resources to cover the maintaining bills, it would be the government’s responsibility. Otherwise, it is advisable to welcome visitors without charging them any amount of money.