In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future. To what extent do you agree with this view?

In the last two decades, there has been a boom in the information technology (IT) sector and the communication has all together changed due to the development of the email system. Although, this progress is eye catching, but it will have a negative impact in the years to come. In my opinion, I fully disagree with this, as technological advancement has turned this world into a global village and has also made our lives more comfortable. Firstly, improvements in the IT field have brought the nations more closer. Due to the use of internet, people have an easy access to the latest inventions of the world. On the one hand, there is an exchange of ideas and innovations more frequent. While on the other hand, there is an increase in competition among the countries to produce the best results. Moreover, due to the access of Watsapp, Facebook, Instagram and email, the social circle of individuals has increased and the families, although settled in different parts of the world, are more glued together. For example, a recent study conducted in the UK has shown that there is a decline of loneliness among elderly people due to the enhanced use of social media groups on the internet. Secondly, technology progress has made the life more cosy and full of comfort. Man has developed marvellous things for his ease, like cars, aeroplanes, mobile phones, air conditioners, televisions and many more things have been invented which have made the living conducive and easy. This has a direct impact on the social behaviour of a population. Moreover, this has also brought peace and harmony in the society. For example, a study published in the USA states that the progress of the nation is directly proportional to its lifestyle. To conclude, tremendous work in the subject of science and technology has made our lives easier and the effective interaction has compounded this effect.