In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive in the future. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Advancements in the field of Information technology have changed the way we work and how we communicate with each other. Some people think, such developments will have a negative impact in the future, while others argue that, it will make our life much easier. In this essay I will put forth my views supporting the latter argument. Firstly, IT has become an integral part of how we do business today. With the help of IT applications organizations have been able to cut down on redundancies and operate more efficiently. For example, before IT applications like ERP came into existence, organizations had to spend hours cataloguing their data points into a paper based system. Moreover, with the help of IT applications, companies will be able to bring down expenses and this cost benefits are utilized to provide more value to their customers. Secondly, IT has helped make our life's much easier, in terms of our day to day activities. For example, 10 years back people used to spend hours at a Government agency for paying their electricity bill, but today with the help of online applications this could be done within a matter of seconds. Add to this, with the help of online portals, job seekers today, are able to connect with potential employers through web applications like LinkedIn, thus making their life much easier. To sum up, I believe, IT will be an important part of our life going forward. It is only when, people start misusing the system that we see the IT negatively impacting our society.