Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

A growing number of felonies can be observed every year. There are a few causes to this matter and consequences in the long term. However, it is possible to design strategies to minimise the issues caused by high rates of crime. I will discuss some of the origins to misconduct and possible prevention methods. One of the first causes of crime is poverty and lack of opportunities. Moreover, people in poverty find it difficult to access good quality education in a capitalist system, hence becoming more vulnerable and often getting caught in a vicious circle from which it is quite difficult to emerge. For instance, if someone is in debt and unemployed, this person will resort to extreme measures such as robbing to alleviate immediate needs, whereas someone that has been properly educated will think twice before committing a felony. A possible solution to this problem would be to have better access to education. However, it is extremely important to strengthen laws and raise awareness to respect government institutions. Instead of just caring for the number of law-enforcement resources, it can be more useful to implement campaigns to fight off increased criminal behaviours. Although it may sound harsh, people need to learn the consequences of breaking the law, for example, speeding tickets are constantly given to people that make up excuses and avoid following the rules. In conclusion, it is worrying that criminal activity is on the rise every year. This is an area of opportunity for governments to improve access to better education, which is the cornerstone to overcome extreme poverty. Furthermore, law-enforcement agents should be part of campaigns delivered to the people, promoting respect to institutions.