Some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It has been argued by many that traffic problems can be overcome by developing alternate means of travelling like trains and subways, whereas some are of the opinion that it can be solved by laying more roads and widening the existing tracks. In my opinion, I believe that spending money on other ways of travel will solve the issue. On the one hand, the ever increasing traffic congestion is a point of concern for every government and it can be solved by encouraging the uplift of more means of transport like building metro and tram systems, and I also support this idea. Firstly, budget allocation must be done for these projects. Secondly, awareness campaigns must be launched to persuade people to use the mass transit system. Furthermore, the underground railway companies must announce attractive packages for the travellers to increase the output. All this will ultimately reduce the number of people using their own cars and decrease the congested environment on the roads. For instance, London and Paris, being the busiest cities, have the most efficient subway system. On the other hand, countries should build more and wider roads to reduce the discomfort caused by the increased number of vehicles. This can be done by making new plans of development, while emphasis must be on the building of new paths and increasing the width of the previous ones. Moreover, creating alternate routes can also provide some relief. Finally, all these efforts can help in minimising the ever increasing issue of traffic jam. For example, the government of Pakistan has adopted this plan in the expansion of its capital city Islamabad. To conclude, I think the best way to is to develop new means of transit as it will share the burden and make the journey more comfortable.