Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Increasing trend of owning costly items is observed among few people, to the extent that they buy it even if they cannot afford it or need it. The primary reason behind this trend is the ever growing culture of showing off and to curb this issue awareness programme should be organised. The predominant reason for overspending on buying things is the materialistic approach towards the lifestyle. In other words, we are living in the era where holding high human values and the morals are considered less valuable than that of owning the costly products. As a result, people today are focused on making themselves valuable by buying such a costly items which are appreciated by the others, this not only make them under pressure of impressing others via valuables but it also increases stress on them as they have bought it on the loans. For Example, in India the average income of an individual is far lower than that of an individual in The United States of America, but many Indians are trying to buy iPhones even on the loans, just to impress others. To eradicate this misinterpretation towards life, The Government and The major Non-Profit organisations should initiate the major awareness programmes and the publicity campaign to promote the awareness about the meaning of life and investing and spending in health and learning, instead of useless things. Such alertness programmes will shed some light on the real enriching factors of life and will not only allow them to be more cautious and honest about their spending, but will also make them happier as they will own things they need and stop expecting for the unnecessary things. For Instance, In Rome the Government promoted the buying of products based on the utility and the requirements, soon they observed that the happiness index gone up as they were buying the products they needed. In conclusion, the trend of showing off using valuable products is over all adding stress to the individuals and The Government and The Non-Profit organizations should be vigilant about spreading cognizance about spending the money on the important things.