In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is important to protect countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

Ever rising population around the world has led to the expansion of many cities to their fullest, demanding settlement of people in the adjacent rural areas. While it is discouraged by some people considering the negative consequences, it has become inevitable to counter the related detrimental impacts on the cities. I will discuss why ultimately we need to build the new residences in the countryside. The movement of people from the cities leads to the construction of new residential facilities in the rural areas, taking the share of the fertile farming lands. The prime significance of rural areas is due to their agricultural business, which is also the prime source of earning of the inhabitants. However, due to these infrastructure developments, the villagers need to relocate their farms to some other lands, which hamper their agricultural produce. For example, major agricultural farms in Pakistan are located in villages around its big city Lahore, but the migration of people for better education and employment opportunities has gradually made these villages the part of the city, cutting off the cultivated produce. Conversely, it is a necessity of the time to expand the residential amenities from cities to the countryside, primarily because of the rising pollution in the urban areas. The number of vehicles on the cities’ roads is continuously rising because of the ever rising population and their improved earnings. Additionally, heaps of domestic wastes are also aggravating the pollution problems in these areas. This is the reason that smog has taken over the whole city of Lahore. The air quality has fallen to a dangerously low level. In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that construction of new houses in the countryside has its drawbacks, but it has become a necessity to accommodate the ever rising population in the cities and to counter the bad effects of the resulting urban pollution.