For many young people today, shopping is their favourite free time activity. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time?

Today's young generation have taken a keen interest in availing themselves to shopping activities during their breaks. In my opinion, this is because of financial stability of their parents and technological discoveries. Although, shopping great, I would reckon that socializing with friends in playgrounds should be encouraged in early age-group. In order to consider shopping as a hobby, the individual must be financially capable. A trip to a gadget store can be frustrating rather than interesting if one finds a toy he is fondly in need of and cannot muster the money to pay for it. A vivid recall of my last trip to Phonix mobile store left me wondering why I embarked on the journey in the first instance. I saw a Samsung galaxy phone that I had craved for and at a reasonable price but could not afford it. So, today's young people goes to shop more frequently because they have the wealth to back this venture. Another important reason why youth prefers spending time buying things is due to the pleasure of having the latest inventions. Without doubt, the present day kids are technology savvy, and technology is constantly evolving with new product release. This frequent introduction of new device implies that there will always be something exciting about the next visit. Thus, teens devote their free time to discovering these latest available products. Even though shopping may be a satisfying activity, I will rather encourage that children should spend more time with people to develop communication and teamwork rather than always going to shop. By so doing, they will develop important skills for their adulthood. In conclusion, the increased shopping rate among our children in this current age is due to economic stability and technological innovations but such must not be always encouraged.