Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The process of learning a language is a long and arduous one, and the question of why people might inflict such torment on themselves is worth discussing. While some feel this pursuit is solely a practical one, allowing us to travel or work abroad, others see it as something more. From my perspective, the fluency in non-native language is beneficial in various ways. On the one hand, it is quite natural for people to learn foreign language with an intention to use it for communication while travelling or working abroad. Foreigners’ reaction is usually much more pleasant if the speaker knows their native language and can clearly express his thoughts. Consequently, this person can be considered as a part of local communities as well as welcomed to visit residents’ houses. On the other hand, people also learn languages to read literature and watch films in the original version. Even the most accurate translation might change the original meaning and lead to a deviation. Reading the original version of “Pride and prejudice”, for example, was an enormous pleasure to me and an opportunity to understand the Jane Austin’s world deeper. Furthermore, learning foreign language develops our brains. Switching to a new kind of activity, we stimulate the emergence of new neuron connections and improve our ability to think critically and intuition. That is, studying Chinese not only can help you to find a way home once you will be in Beijing but also makes you smarter. To sum up, although people learn a foreign language to eliminate communication barriers in working or travelling, there are far many advantages of learning it than these two.