Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

We all have witnessed a substantial increase in the crime rates. It is argued by many that after a punishment is attained by a person for their first crime, there is a tendency that they would increase in performing more crimes. In my essay I will justify the reasons behind this and also the measures that can be taken to tackle this concern. To begin with, one of the main reasons why the criminals increase, committing crimes after their first punishment is due to the lack of an employment opportunities. This is because once a person has served time in the prison for the offence made, this becomes a part of his track record and, therefore it makes it difficult for them to find a job, as many companies refuse to employ individuals who have committed crime. So in order to survive these people indulge in a number of crimes. To illustrate, a criminal who was convicted of murder and had served an imprisonment of 10 years, once he was released from jail, he committed 2 more murders before he was put behind the bar again. One of the ways to reduce the offence made by these individuals is by putting them in rehab centre rather than punishing them and giving them imprisonment. This could help the individual in realising his mistake and probably improving his thought process, also after the person is released from the rehab centre, he would be able to find a job and start a fresh life their offences. To conclude, most of the crimes are committed again and again by some individuals for one of the main reasons being survival. If the individuals are put in a rehab centre, this could change their way of thinking and they can get jobs in the future which could result in committing no crimes.