Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like.Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent times, the issue of courses studied in tertiary institutions has been a topic for debate. Some believe that all students in university should study what they like, while others opine that they should only be permitted to read subjects that will be of benefit in the future such as those relating to science and technology. To begin with, those who feel students should study whatever they like seeing it as a basic right, that every individual should have the freedom to decide what's of interest to them and move ahead to learn about it. These students would be happier in school, as research has shown that people who had the liberty to choose their course were three times less likely to drop out of college. However, there's the issue of unemployment in the future, as some of these courses that students freely run to are becoming less and less relevant by the day. For instance a research carried out in Lagos showed that 80% of all sociology graduates ended up being unemployed as against an employment rate of 90% about 30 years ago. Furthermore, it would be a waste of money spending time in university doing a course that might not be so useful. With tuition fees increasing by more than 300% over a period of 10 years and student loans becoming increasingly difficult to pay off, therefore, it would be unreasonable to spend time studying a course that wouldn't guarantee employment. In conclusion, it is ideal that a everyone be able to make a choice on what field one wants to delve into, but unfortunately the present economy might not afford one that luxury. Hence, in my opinion all prospective students should learn what would be useful.