Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

According to some individuals, travellers should follow local customs and behaviour of the place they visit. On the contrary, others believe that the travellers must be welcomed irrespective of the cultural differences. This is one of the most debated topics. Travellers and receiving countries should consider each others traditions and cultures so as to be mutually benefited. This essay will discuss both views followed by opinion. Firstly, it is very important to respect the culture of the host nation that a person visits to. For this, he has to acquire some knowledge and learn the behaviour and some traditions that are widely accepted there just before travelling. In fact, this study makes one's trip more interesting and can prepare him/her for the cultural differences. The natives would definitely appreciate such efforts and warmly welcome tourists. For instance, some travel agents suggest the visitors to dress according to the destination country's tradition, so as to show respect to the place they visit. This will show the travellers positive attitude towards the culture of the place and would force local people to come down one step to make him feel at home. However, local people should be encouraged to accept the visitors with their cultural differences. When they are welcomed warmly, tourists not only feel at home, but also appreciate the hospitality of the people of the host country. This, in turn, will boost the economy of the nation due to flourishing travel industry. A recent survey revealed that travellers often prefer going to place which accept diverse cultures. In fact, they suggest such places to other travellers by giving positive reviews. Hence, for the economic benefit, countries should receive visitors from diverse cultures warmly. To sum up, I believe that both the visitors and the host nations should accept and respect diverse cultures as both would be beneficial to each other.