The position of women in society has changed markedly in the last 20 years. Many of the problems young people now experience, such as juvenile delinquency, arise from the fact that many married women now work and are not at home to care for their children. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the last two decades, women have accessed and gained more place in the working market. Consequently, the hours away from home and children have risen incredibly. This amount of time kids are not being taken care by their mothers, is believed by many, that will make young people suffer problems such as increasing their delinquency. In my opinion, being a working woman is not related to juvenile misbehaviour and this essay will explain why. Primarily, since the 1990´s mothers have been getting jobs at increasing rates, henceforth they are receiving a salary. This income, is not only helping the familiar daily economy, but also allows the access to a private education which is clearly a safer experience for kids. For example, many paid schools have the benefit of full time schedule, keeping children away from the streets. In summary, having a high family income, which is achieved when both parents work, decreases considerably youth crime by accessing to better institutes where children can stay for long hours being educated. It is important to address that, in spite mothers spend long hours away from home to attend their jobs, it does not mean that they will neglect their children by doing so. Women can manage to do multiple activities and doing them correctly. Mothers can be there for their kids when arriving home, and from work as well. For instance, can leave work to get them from school and take them to extracurricular classes. Not only by driving them, but also by helping them with homeworks and daily decisions, mothers are always taking care of their children. Many women work, and in spite of that, their kids do not end up in jail. This is due to the reason that when at home, mothers transmit family and social values to their sons and daughters continuously. In conclusion, I disagree with the opinion that the increase in female jobs nowadays, will have a direct consequence in the rise of crime among adolescents. Oppositely, having extra salaries and quality time with children at home can make them happy and keep them away from criminal activities. Alarming as it sounds, staying at home can be disadvantageous for the child raising because life is harder with less money and family environment can become hostile for kids when mothers remain at home all day long.