The position of women in society has changed markedly in the last 20 years. Many of the problems young people now experience, such as juvenile delinquency, arise from the fact that many married women now work and are not at home to care for their children. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the last two decades, women have accessed and gained more place in the working market. Consequently, the time spent away from home and children has increased incredibly, which is a time that kids are not looked after by their mothers.Ultimately, young people will suffer problems such as increasing delinquency. In my opinion, being a working woman is not related to juvenile misbehaviour and this essay will explain why. Primarily, since the 1990´s mothers have been getting jobs at increasing rates, henceforth they are receiving a salary. This income is not only helping the familiar daily economy, but also allows access to a private education which is clearly a safer experience for kids. For example, many paid schools have the benefit of a full time schedule, keeping children away from the streets. In summary, having a high household income, which is easily achieved when both parents work, reduces the chances of youth-related crime. It is important to address that, although mothers spend long hours away from home to attend their jobs, it does not necessarily mean that they will neglect their children. Women have the ability to multitask in their activities and are more than capable of doing this correctly. Mothers can be there for their kids when arriving home, and from work as well. For instance, they can leave work to get them from school and take them to extracurricular classes. Not only by driving them, but also by helping them with homework and daily decisions, mothers are always taking care of their children. In conclusion, I disagree with the opinion that the increase in female jobs nowadays, will have a direct consequence in the rise of crime among adolescents. Oppositely, having extra salaries and quality time with children at home can make them happy and keep them away from criminal activities.