In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Nowadays the administration of the various nations pays much higher attention to improve the economy, ignoring the rest of the issues. While ignoring other key issues may disappoint some people, when economy flourishes it improves the most of the aspects of their life. On the one hand, the primary demerit of just focusing on growth with financial aspect is it deters the council to spend on public interest projects. In other words, if during the proposal of projects their feasibility is checked with respect to the financial gains, many times the projects which do not directly provide return on investment may suffer. For example, The National Health Service programme in the United Kingdom provides free health care to its citizens, if the Government will invest this money in building special economic zones or technology parks instead of public health care their citizens will be in trouble. However, with an increase in the income they can pay for it on their own. On the other hand, the merit can be seen as with the improved economy the overall happiness index of the Nation improves. This is because, to boost the economy various steps needs to be taken like improving the public transport, creating more jobs, ease of doing business, this will improve the overall life of their citizens and brings economic prosperity. Hence, it will improve the overall standard of living. For instance, The UAE Government has spent an enormous amount of money on their infrastructure development and has implemented business friendly policies to attract the businesses throughout the world and today their local people have more jobs and incomes which was not the case before 20 years. In conclusion, when the Governments give higher priorities to economic development rather than other issues even though its citizen might be unhappy with some aspects it can definitely improve their life in the long run.