Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

The use of social media is seemingly acceptable to all generations. However, this introduces concerns over sharing personal information. While there is clearly a drawback to this, I personally believe that the benefits are more significant. The downside of sharing private information is that someone may use it to commit crimes, this could happen with something as simple as holiday plan. A while ago, a house was broken into by thieves who knew that the family were on vacation, from their daughter’s Facebook page. Therefore, it is very important that we are aware of what we share. On the other hand, one of the major advantages is that social media brings people closer or even reconnect childhood friends. A good example of this is when you put your alma mater in your profile information, Facebook suggest adding people who put the same information. One of the suggestions may just be a long-lost friend, and you can get in contact with him/her again. In addition to that, social media as a communication channel can help a good cause. Many governments or agencies have started to use social media to inform the public of news or updates. One remarkable example recently was by the Singapore Government who implemented a new mobile app to connect with its citizen and use social media to educate the public on how to use it. Clearly, this is a good way of using social media, as a communication medium. In conclusion, the advantages are of greater significance than the disadvantages. Despite the fact that personal information may be misused, the presence of social media gives huge impacts to many people. Given this situation, it is recommended for people to learn how much personal information that they want to share and also, to be vigilant in the digital world.