Food travels thousands of miles from producers to customers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers. Advantages and disadvantages.

Imported foods are usually imported because of the demands of the people living in the country importing the food. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the merits and demerits of allowing only local food produced by the farmer to be consumed to protect the environment and an economy of a country. Foremost, advantage of allowing eatable items from other countries is to give a freedom of choices to the local people. There are various items in an eatable category and people have their own taste so allowing this sort of arrangement will assist people to choose freely what to eat and vice versa. For example, In first world countries, their people seem to be happy because of their policy which allow foods to import regardless of their effects on the environment and an economy. On the other hand, The disadvantage of allowing eatable items from another part of the world encourage people not to give a priority to the local foods resulting loss in usage of the local foods, increase in an environmental pollution and crises in the economy. After having so many choices of the food items, a person can easily ignore the local food item because they have been consuming it since their childhood. For example, In third world countries when country focuses to bring the food items from their allies their people found to be focusing on newly brought foods instead of the local foods. To sum up, Sometimes it is a good choice to allow the food products from other countries and some time won't. It is entirely depends on the statistics of the country who is willing to import the food items.