Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Communication has an important role in human existence. There is no doubt that the advancement of technology has transformed the people's communication. Although some people think that this development can have a detrimental impact on social life due to the reduced amount of time to meet their friends, it has many benefits such as easiness to contact the people. This essay disagrees the statement that the latest methods of interaction reduce the real time interactions between people. Looking back on the past, people communicate with friends via letter and phone. However, these two ways take a long time and are quite expensive for users. Being busy and far distance makes it hard for people to have a face to face meeting also. As a result, the relationships tend to be faded away over time. For instance, during the past generation only few people conduct get together between friends. This is due to the lack of accessibility between people. Even though every person has a postal address, it is extremely difficult to co-ordinate all people through the postal system. Nowadays, almost people use modern form of communication such as email and messaging, which is much more convenient owing to their benefits, Firstly, everyone can send an instant message to their friends everywhere with a very cheap price. Secondly, these modern forms are updated so that people can send out voice messages, pictures, Smilies, making the content of the conversation more interesting. For example, in my case, I have some foreign friends who I still keep contact with them through messengers. As a result, my social circle is bigger and I can broad my mind by chatting with others come from other countries. I think it is also difficult to argue that electronic email and messaging have reduced the amount of people see each other. In contrast, people are spending hours to hang out with their families and friends in the parties, events or entertainment areas. In conclusion, This essay disagree with the statement in the question and firmly believe that modern communications have greatly improved people's social lives.