Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, details requested by employers for jobs are drastically important step. While some believe that sharing personal information like hobbies, interest and marital status may be relevant, others think it is not. Herein I would discuss both the views and agree with the former. To start with, a company can decide the suitability of the candidate for the job. In other words, if a job requires frequent outstation travelling, a male, unmarried person would be best suitable. It also gives an Idea about the availability of applicant to stretch working in office. For instance, for a married female working in day shift would be convenient. To add, involving employees in their hobbies in leisure time would also increase retention in office. On the contrary, sharing of data can also lead to bias and breach of privacy. For example, if the interviewer likes cricket, he/she will select candidates who like cricket as well. Thus giving preference to a candidate they like. Further to this, there are also chances of misusing it. That might get influenced by the high status of the family or the lower status of parents and decide regarding suitability of the applicant. Also, sharing these can be used by colleagues and boss for public insults. Thus, people can draw conclusion regarding person's character as well. To conclude with sharing of personal information is inevitable, but can lead to disadvantages as well. Thus, in my opinion relevance of sharing family details is undeniable, but the authorities must maintain it under privacy policy as well.