Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other public services. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Some people are of the opinion that the government should stop funding artwork such as painting and music as these are not a proper use of the money, but instead they should allocate this money into other services that will benefit the people. From my point of view, I completely agree with this notion as this will discourage teenagers from dropping out of school and also improve the infrastructure of the communities. To begin with, there are quite a large number of musicians and artist in every community and spending more money in this sector will have a detrimental effect on the citizens particularly the youngsters. In other words, teenagers are being drawn into the music instead of focusing on their education and as a result of this they are leaving school to become a musician. The government will be encouraging children to drop out of school if they continue to fund them. For example, Norway now has the highest rate of teenage school drop out because their government issuing loans to students who wants to become and artist. On the other hand, a better way to utilize this money will be to improve the infrastructure of the country. That is to say, building more roads, hospitals, companies and airports will bring more benefit than using them in the art sector. Firstly, this will create a lot of jobs for people, thus reducing crime rates and unemployment. Secondly, it will generate more income for the government, which can be used for the development of other things in a country. Furthermore, good roads will decrease the rate of road accident, thereby increasing the life expectancy. To conclude, certain numbers of individuals feel that spending money into entertainments like making music and colouring drawings are not a good use of government money and therefore the money should go into the development of better infrastructure.