Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job. Do you agree or disagree?

Educational institutions have to train the students in various study topics such as science, math, language, arts and history among others in order to prepare the learners to be able to survive in the competitive world. Whilst on the other hand, there is another pool of thought which contemplates that the focus should be laid more upon developing the career-oriented abilities. Both the aspects are discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs along with presenting my opinion on the matter. Studying subjects like history; which provide an insight into the ancient rulers, their achievements and failures, does not just impart knowledge related to the past, but also proves to be advantageous in terms of students becoming well aware of the significant facts that had happened years ago and still hold relevance. Since, every generation has a moral and social responsibility of passing on the share of knowledge to the next generation, the role played by almamaters someone who pursues a study or sport as a pastime amateurs becomes even more vital as the children get to know in their curriculum the events occurred in their own countries as well as in the world. Nevertheless, the notion that, the youngsters need to be skilled right from the beginning so that they are able to secure employment when they finish their studies, can not can not cannot be upright rejected. As the cut throat competition requires the job seekers to be possessing several skills, the candidates may feel under confident if they are not rightly trained. This is proved by a study conducted at Columbia University, wherein a survey conducted with over hundred industrial organizations demonstrated that the employers prefer candidates who possess basic knowledge, if not sophisticated acumen, in the domain of work. Pondering upon what has been discussed above, it will be more prudent to conclude that both theoretical as well as vocational subjects serve a different purpose, and hence, both are important in the coursework of children.