university students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a growing trend for university students joining overseas exchange programmes during their studies. Despite the possibility of physical danger when being alone and a high cost of living overseas, students can advance their foreign language and adopt into different cultures during their stay. In my opinion, students would be ultimately benefited from this lifetime experience in studying overseas which surpass the disadvantages. Students are able to learn and practice foreign language on a daily basis, as well as exposure to another culture during studying overseas. They will speak to locals from all walks of life and with this intensity of practice, it allows students to pick up the dialect more effectively. Also, students would have the opportunity in participating cultural events which enhance their understanding of the country. For example, when I studied in the UK, I learn slangs from local people that are hardly used in class; whereas participating in local festivals is the quickest ways for me to get to know the importance and symbolic meanings behind certain rituals. Therefore, studying in a foreign country for a longer term allows quicker learning in language as well as enhancing learning through cultural experiences which are both beneficial to students. Number of students studying abroad has escalated recently. This generates new opportunities in language development so as cultural experiences for the students with risk of personal harm and financial burden. Ultimately, this learning experience would bring more benefits to the students compared to the drawbacks from it.