Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Tourism has grown significantly over the years. After having visited popular, mainstream tourist destinations, travelers are now preferring to visit off-beat destinations that provide not only a unique sense of adventure but also give good glimpses on the topography of a particular region. While traveling to these unique places has its many advantages, one must bear in mind that it’s not easy to travel to such spots without adequate planning and preparation. Through this essay, I would like to highlight the many advantages and disadvantages of visiting such exclusive destinations. People like to go on expeditions to unheard spots because it provides an unparalleled sense of adventure which many of them like to share with their social network through means of blog posts and photographs. It not only provides a way to get close to mother nature but also helps give invaluable insights into geology and geography of the region. A recent tourism survey indicated that more and more people now desire to have non-generic travel experiences as it teaches many of life’s survival skills, an opportunity that visiting to generic tourist spots would never provide as those mainly deal with understanding the local history and culture of the city or town. Although travel and tourism to unpopular spots has many benefits, there are many disadvantages to such travels. Firstly, the cost of travel is significantly higher because it often involves reaching these uninhabited spots through multiple modes of transport. Secondly, these places could have extreme weather conditions and hence one must plan and prepare in advance to avoid detrimental weather conditions. So, it might not suit the agenda of a traveler who likes to make spontaneous trips. Because these places are far away from human settlements, there could be limited options of help available in case of emergencies. To conclude, it’s important that one educates themselves clearly on both, the benefits and hazards of off-beat destination travel to enjoy the best of what these places can offer.