The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Online shopping has become increasingly popular that one day it could eradicate all the local retailers and their businesses. This essay agrees that the popularity of purchasing goods online can bring detrimental effects on the local shops in towns and cities. This essay firstly discusses why online shopping is widely considered because of its accessibility and secondly explain how discounts are playing a major role in attracting people towards it. There are many reasons why online shopping is preferred by a number of people. Firstly, most of the online shopping websites are easy to access through computers and mobile applications. This is because they can be accessed on any device which is connected to the internet. Therefore, it is easily accessible to the number of websites with several varieties. Moreover, there are also several brands and varieties to choose from which also saves time for an individual to do their shopping. For example, a recent article in the Times has reported that there has been a 67% rise in online shopping after smartphones have come into existence. Another reason why people prefer online shopping is because of their huge offering of discounts. The online retailers often discount their products to attract people towards them to fight the competition in the market. As a result, most of the teenagers and financially-challenged people are attracted to these discounts and they stick to online shopping which also reduces the hassle to visit a store physically and buy products at a higher price. To illustrate this, Amazon, an e-commerce website has reported that there has been 84% higher traffic to their websites when they offered discounts during thanksgiving sale in 2018. Therefore, it is patently clear that discounts are playing a crucial role in attracting the people towards their websites ditching the local retailers. In conclusion, this essay agrees that the popularity of online shopping could bring severe damage to the local shops as they are easy to access and also for the fact that it offers several discount. It is recommended that the local shop retailers should make a deal with these internet giants for fruitful profits in the future.