Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that only governments are in charge of protecting the environment. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this viewpoint. I think the environmental preservation is the responsibility of both governments and individuals. It is true that politicians play a vital role in protecting the environment. The governments should be responsible for tackling some serious problems such as global warming, deforestation, etc. The reason is that these issues require the efforts and cooperation of politicians and large environmental organisations. Only hey can have sufficient funs and resources to find the most effective solutions. Moreover, the authorities have the power to impose the laws against the actions that damage the environment. For instance, any individuals or organizations that dump waste or harmful water improperly should be sentenced the long-term imprisonment and heavy fines. Needless to say, each person can make a contribution to environmental conservation through small, everyday actions. First, residents should use public transportation instead of their own vehicles. For example, in the Netherlands, citizens have shifted towards using bicycles and subway trains for their daily travel instead of cars, which helps reduce air pollution. I think that individuals have to cooperate with politicians to take action to reduce environmental issues. Take a common example, if farmers continue to burn forests for their own purposes, regardless of the regulations of the government, the problem of climate change and deforestation will never be successfully mitigated. In conclusion, as those mentioned reasons above, I hold the view that protecting the environment is the obligation of both politicians and individuals.