Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Consumer goods are ubiquitous, and it's impossible to visualize life without them. From brushing our teeth to sleeping at night, every human activity requires them. What would our lives be like without them? The first scenario would be that of their unavailability at the local store. Imagine having to go to the soap factory or its warehouse, to have to buy soap that I need in my home every day. Even if I decide to stock my home on a monthly basis, I would still have to travel all the way to the factory and back once in a month, which is too much trouble for something so little as soap. I would have to repeat this for all the items that I need, with no time for any other productive activity. Let's say that availability is not a problem, but the only way I could buy them was in bulk. What would I do with bucket loads of milk? Where would I store them? What about the other items I need? Will I be able to find enough space to store my supplies and live comfortably as well? Especially as housing is so expensive - anywhere in the world. Hence, packaged goods with the choice to buy either in bulk or individually are such a boon. In conclusion, if I want to focus on doing things that I enjoy and make money to indulge in them, then I can't do without retail products. Just on the two counts described above, it's easy to see why the benefits of consumables have served to make them an integral part of our life. Eventually, one hopes that their presentation will prove beneficial to the environment too.