Some people say that parents should place restrictions on the hours of their children spend watching TV and playing computer games, and encourage them to spend this time reading books instead. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that whether children should be encouraged for book reading or keep on entertaining themselves by playing games on the computer system or watching television during their free time. Although this time should be used in reading books, it would appear there must be a time limit on this because of some reasons. At the outset, reading books in their leisure time could produce an extra burden on children. It is because, nowadays, a big amount of time has already been spent in schools. Due to the competitive era, even some of them are attending there coaching classes after school times. For instance, an average Indian child has to get involved in their studies from 6 to 8 hours, a recent survey reported. So, if they are being compelled for reading in their spare time, it could lead to unnecessary pressure which might be detrimental in the long run. On the other hand, watching television and playing computer games has their benefits. Firstly, television is not only a good source of entertainment, but also can provide vast knowledge to the spectators. As there are various channels, such as Discovery, History and so on, they can be used to acquire various skills and knowledge. For instance, by watching such educational channels, students can learn that particular subject enjoyably. Secondly, playing games on a computer can inculcate rational thinking and cognitive abilities. Because children have to make quicker decisions and think out-of-the-box ideas to complete the levels in games. Whereas, there might be a limit on these activities as watching screens for a long time could cause bad posture and eye-related ailments. In conclusion, while people assert that the books should be read by the children in leisure time rather than playing video games and watching television, from my view, with some time restriction the latter could be more beneficial for a balanced lifestyle.