A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think the government should increase spending on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Providing citizen's safety is one of the duties of the government. Thus, according to some the state should spend more on military spending and spend less on social welfare, such as health, education, retirement benefits, etc. In my opinion, the defence is more crucial than social benefits, therefore, I agree that the government ought to increase their spending on the military and spend less on social benefits. A good reason to increase defence spending and decrease social welfare spending is that the country will be more vulnerable without the spending on defence. At present, the state's response to the external threats is vital since, any attack to the nation will be more likely to disrupt its social services. This risk will be easily reduced by increasing the expenditure on military spending. Another point to consider is that according to Maslow's pyramid, feeling safe is one of our fundamental needs. Hence, the citizens have to feel safe in order to move the top of the pyramid from the base. For instance, people who live in safer countries will feel a lot happier than those who live in a country where it provides good social services but it is under threat. Moreover, people in a safe country will be able to enjoy life more and it will be a great reward to society. In conclusion, nations must increase their military expenditure in order not to disrupt their social services like education, health, etc. And in order to provide their citizens with a happy life.