Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Due to recent technological advancements, many think that students should only study those subjects which will be useful in the future. I totally disagree with this and I think that students should be able to study subjects of their choice. There are several reasons why people think universities should only offer subjects that are beneficial for the future. They may assert that studying courses like medicine, engineering and information technology may lead to higher employment opportunities. For example, Microsoft, a software company, has announced that they will employ 10 thousand people from computer science backgrounds for the following 5 years. Besides, this would also mean that they can progress more in career, have better salaries and therefore an improved quality of life. Finally, a focus on technology in higher education could lead to new inventions, economic growth, and greater future prosperity. Despite of these arguments, I believe university students should be free to choose their preferred area of study. Students should be passionate about what they are learning. If, in contrast, they are forced to study a subject, they might not excel in life as expected to do. Moreover, there ought to be a sense of freedom in the society. Last but no the last, a society needs all kinds of workers to meet its needs. Doctors, teachers, scientists, and inventors all are required to run a society. In conclusion, although there are certain benefits of studying subjects which will be beneficial in the future, I personally prefer the system in which people have the right to study whatever they like.