These days, we are seeing an increasing amount of violence on television, and this is having a negative impact on children's behaviour. Do you agree or disagree

There is no doubt children being exposed to more violence in recent years through television. Some people believe this will have negative effects on young minds, others argue against it. I completely agree that watching action movies, or similar TV, will impact children adversely. Movies, such as Die Hard, X-Men, are acceptable in today's society. Even film rating agencies tend to rate them at a PG-12 level. This provides validity and creates a sense of normalcy in parents' minds. However, in reality, young adults mimic their favourite characters in their real life. In a recent survey, many students selected action superhero, when asked about what they want to be when they grow old. This clearly shows that reality is being distorted by these action movies, which could lead to detrimental effect on society as a whole. In addition, 24/7 news channels opt to prioritize negative stories over positive ones. A research conducted by the Bombay University shows, 91% of coverage revolves around negative events and 72% of airtime devoted to stories that involves murder, kidnaping, or attacks. This will skew the perception in developing brains towards violence being normal in everyday life. While in reality, data suggest that we are living in the most peaceful time in all of human history and these acts of threats are rare and occasional. In conclusion, this essay argued, movies and news on television tend to disproportionately allot airtime to telecast negative coverage. In my opinion, being surrounded by negative information, will adversely impact a child's development.