Being a celebrity- such as a famous film star or sports personality-brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

Celebrities are not only known the world over, they are also fabulously wealthy, and this is the primary reason that being a celebrity is so beneficial. They often become millionaires overnight and this allows them to buy whatever they want for themselves and their loved ones, and all for doing something they love. Premiership footballers are a prime example, with most of them being able to support themselves for the rest of their lives, after earning over $50,000 per week, on average, for many years. Therefore, this essay believes that celebrities are removed from the financial worries of everyday people. However, it is often argued that celebrity comes at a price, and that price is the destruction of their private lives. Many complain that they can’t cope with living ‘inside a goldfish bowl’ and they would trade their newfound wealth for anonymity. For example, ‘A-listers’ like Kanye West are hounded by paparazzi wherever they go and can never lead a ‘normal’ life again. However, they do have a choice and there are very few stars that stop what they are doing, give away their money, and return to normality. In conclusion, the financial freedom associated with fame and its many benefits far outweighs the problems, particularly constant attention from the press and fans.