Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As businesses become more competitive, almost every manager is now trying to motivate their employees to put more effort into their job performance, and a common way of doing so is basing an employee’s salary on their rate of production and sales. I, however, do not agree that this would be the most effective method. The performance of many workers cannot simply be quantified in terms of sales or production. For example, my job as a teacher is to teach classes, assess homework, and provide my students with feedback, none of which involves producing or selling any product with a definite price tag. This renders measuring how much I have ‘sold’ or ‘produced’ very difficult or even impossible for the language school where I work. Instead, it is the performance of my students and their level of satisfaction with aspects of my performance such as rapport or punctuality that decide how successful I have been. Furthermore, the performance of many workers is greatly affected by external factors beyond their control. The current state of the economy, unexpected political developments, and extreme weather conditions can all have significant impacts on how much a worker can sell or produce. A hurricane, for example, can easily devastate a farm and all its produce without its workers being responsible for any of the damages or the ensuing drop in production rates. Therefore, basing wages on sales or production rates would actually demotivate workers in such cases. In conclusion, I think deciding how much an employee should earn based solely on their sales or production figures would be both impossible and unfair in most, if not all, cases. Instead, employers should look at a more diverse set of performance indicators, including customer satisfaction and punctuality.