Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Conservation of the environment is a crucial need of today's world. A section of society believes government to take authority to protect the environment; whereas, few people opine that every individual should take this responsibility. In my opinion, environmental preservation is a combine duty of the government and the citizens. The government has wide access to monitor the environment, and has the power to frame policies nationwide. Undeniably, government rules such as saving sanctuaries, forests and growing more trees can help to a great extent. Heavy penalties on destroying forests and wildlife could certainly contribute towards a greener world. The laws can be implemented using Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) engines in vehicles and imposing taxes on factories emitting poisonous gases. Secondly, the awareness campaigns can reach throughout the country through mass media and communication, which can motivate the population towards cleaner and greener habitat. The programs on global warming and change in climate can open the eyes of citizens and encourage them to save the world by keeping the planet unpolluted. Despite the above facts, I also believe that citizens are equally responsible for the environmental protection. Admittedly, if only government takes actions and citizens do not come forward then it is of no use. Every individual should take this ownership and must follow steps that can add to the preservation of the environment. For example, if country people start using public transport instead of private vehicle, then they can invariably contribute towards the cleaner atmosphere. Similarly, people can gift plants on occasions and run the propaganda to plant more trees. In conclusion, I pen down, saying that administrative bodies as well as every person should abide the laws of environmental conservation and take responsibility to enhance the environment we live in.