Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent developments ever will. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by some that earlier advances in technology have had a greater impact on human life than the recent changes. I totally support this belief for the two following reasons. Firstly, many earlier technologies help people change the way they live. One illustration originated from the fact that the telephone invention has changed the way we communicate. Particularly, the telephone has made communication more efficient and faster. After it is invented, people can connect to others from different locations in a shorter time. The light bulb is another example proved that earlier technologies can improve our quality of life. Before it was introduced, people relied on sunlight and candles as main light sources. The invention of light bulb enables people to extend the length of days. In other words, it allows us to do more activities after sunset such as working, studying or socialising, thus increase life quality and productivity. Secondly, it is indisputable that most modern technologies are developed based on earlier invention. For instance, smart phones were upgraded from mobile phones, and mobile phones were evolved from telephones. In addition, some early technologies cannot be replaced by the modern ones. Specifically, although there are many recent medical breakthroughs, some traditional techniques are still effective and cannot be replaced. Specifically, X-rays, which was discovered over one hundred years ago, still remains a crucial role in helping doctors to diagnose and treat some diseases. In conclusion, the benefits of earlier technology development are too great to ignore. It not only improves human life, but also holds a key to a number of modern technological innovations.