In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

A visible change of any human civilization is getting old. Every individual has to go through three stages of life child, youth and elder. While, young is not much dependent on anyone but the other two needs support. In this essay I will discuss some of my views on who should be responsible for the backing needed during the later stage of survival. When we were children our parents were there to support us. Same is expected from us when we are young and our parents are older in age. They need our support physically as well as mentally. Due to the work related commitments, Young people are not able to take responsibility of their parents. They are not able to give the attention which is required at a later stage. So, to overcome this issue, families are sending their parents to the home care, which has all necessary facilities including nursing. The family, which prefers this option should be solely responsible for the expenses. It is their responsibility to take care of their parents and their well-being. Furthermore, government should also try to provide some more retirement benefits to all private sector employees so that they can survive. In some cases, we have seen families abandon their parents, if authorities enhance some benefits, then these people does not depend on anyone and can live happily. For instance, a large section in Britain is working as private employees, which does not provide any lifelong retirement monthly wages. It only provides a little of retirement fund, which is virtually not enough to survive in today's era. In conclusion, we as a society, should encourage younger generation to take care of older people. They should be given due respect. Public authorities should also make sure that they make arrangements so that these people can live their life with dignity and peace.