Fossil fuels (e.g. coals, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged for use by some countries. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays fossil fuels are the major source of energy. However, some countries promoting renewable energy, such as solar, wind or tidal. As far as I am concerned, the use of alternative energy sources is a positive evolution, although the idea of fossil fuel should not be abandoned. First and foremost, alternative energy has a number of benefits. One of them is the ability of renewal. Nobody knows exactly when fossil fuel will reach its last, but one thing is clear, the renewable energy sources are guaranteed to stay for longer. Some may argue that alternative energy needs more investment, due to modern technologies required. However, research has shown that these investments pay off over a short period of time. On the other hand, the alternative energy sources possess a downside. Solar and wind power is not reliable, due to the fact that they depend on the weather. For example venture beans only rotates if there is enough of a strong wind and the solar panels do not operate at night and provide less energy during cloudy days. In conclusion fossil fuels are considered a traditional way of generating energy, however the popularity of alternative methods is rising every day. Although they possess some cons I firmly believe that renewable energy is a positive development for humanity.