Some say that university students should be free to choose their subjects. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study courses of future benefits like science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Studying a self-chosen subject in higher institutions has been considered by some to be acceptable while others feel that the emphasis should only be on subjects of future benefits such as science and technology. In my opinion, it should be the duty call of scholars to decide what course suits them. Both views will be discussed in detail. The main reason why some believe undergraduates should freely choose their career part is that we never can tell what courses will dominate in subsequent decades. Perhaps it may be that other subjects such as law will dominate later on as it is being apparent that legal issues would be rampant in the not too distant future. A particularly good example is the USA, a democratic nation, where lawyers and judges are being aggressively sought due to multiple court cases requiring their services. Therefore, if they follow their favourite profession, there is a tendency to securing high-paying jobs. Nevertheless, others feel that core science subjects should be mandated because they tend to improve the standard of living. As recent advances made in these fields are already with us today; such as mobile phones, which have revolutionized communication, with possible economic stimulation and job creation, there is no doubt, as they say, citizens would experience remarkable improvements in their lives. A case in point is Apple Company, a tele-communication giant, which accounted for the highest source of internally generated revenue in China last year. As a result, they believe these courses have positive bearings in the society and as such should be made compulsory. In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, it seems to me that students should be given free hands when making course selection. This is because, if students are forced to study courses they do not fancy, they are unlikely to excel. Only in this way - freedom of choice - can society gain immensely from university education.