Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and include your opinion, supported by examples.

International sporting events do a lot for cultural understanding and economical development among the global family. However, the staging of major international sporting spectacles is not entirely positive. Thus, the opinions surrounding whether international sporting events contribute positively to a country or not will be analyzed before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. It is believed by many that countries who host major international sporting events reap numerous rewards. Take the Beijing Olympics of 2008, for example. These Olympic games greatly helped China to shed its twentieth century status as an incapable, political mess. This positive change to the country’s image did a lot to encourage international trade partners, who may have been weary of the country’s capabilities otherwise. Thus, it is clear why many people around the world want their country to host an international sporting event. However, there are other groups who feel internationally held sporting events do more harm than good to a country. For example, the Formula 1 race held annually in various cities around the world is often criticized for its insensitive nature towards the environment. As the racetracks are only used once a year, many feel this wastes the huge stretches of land they sit on, land that would perhaps be better used for residential purposes. Thus, it is understandable why many do not support their country’s foray into international sporting. After looking at both sides of the argument, it is felt that a country’s participation in international sporting events is much more positive than negative. It is hoped international sport can help promote cultural understanding.