Nowadays, many people choose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self employed?

Of recent, there are several individuals who decide to be entrepreneurs instead of being an employee working for an industry or organization because of several reasons. Also, there are various demerits of being self employed which includes having a highly troubled beginning. This essay will discuss why several people opt out to be their own boss and it's accompanying demerits. There are numerous reasons why different people choose to become employers which are known solely entirely to them. In my opinion, people become entrepreneurs because of the lack of employment in the economy. Currently, in Nigeria, there is a high rate of unemployment among the citizens which accounts for its low development. For example, a friend of mine who had no job after searching for employment opportunities for approximately six years ventured into the fishery business. Likewise, there are several other individuals who fit into this category mainly because they want to make ends meet and be responsible in the society. It is a difficult profession having to be one's own boss due to the various disadvantages it possesses. One major disadvantage is having a troubled beginning. In other words, this involves being lost some times, having minimal or no support whatsoever, having no experience about such profession, and the urge of giving up at certain intervals. Using a friend of mine as an illustration, he started out as an entrepreneur venturing into the printing press. Due to several setbacks such as his inexperience, lack of support, and inability to tell what the future holds, his business was futile. As such, starting up a business is highly difficult with several unexpected circumstances and risks. In conclusion, working by oneself can be tremendously lucrative with several detriments such as lack of support and little experience. Nevertheless, most people choose the option of being self employed because of the inability to attain a job talk less of a good paying one.