Some people think parents should supervise their children’s activities closely, while others believe children should have more freedom. Discuss both sides.

It is often debated how much freedom children should have. Although some people believe that the activities of children should be monitored closely by parents, others oppose this viewpoint. I, however, believe that parental supervision is only necessary until they are mature. Children should be monitored until they reach a certain age because they are unaware of the world outside the secure environment of the home and they are not mature enough to understand the difference between good and bad. Consequently, they can fall an easy prey to a bad company of friends, if not guided by parents. Furthermore, the internet has a lot to offer apart from knowledge and information. To exemplify, one of my friend’s daughters misused social media websites to send obscene / vulgar messages to her male friends to draw their attention. These types of instances can be avoided if children use the internet under the surveillance of their parents. On the other hand, there are some valid reasons to give children the freedom to make their choices. Firstly, after they reach a certain level of maturity, children should be encouraged to make their own decision. This practice will help them learn faster than those who are dependent on their parents for making decisions for them. Actually, learning from one’s own mistakes is easier than learning from the knowledge imparted by one’s parents. In conclusion, I believe that until a certain age, children need parental guidance; however, once they are mature, they should be allowed to make their own decisions because this practice will help them to achieve greater success than when they are dependent on their parents.