Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many processed meals and beverages have a high amount of sugar, which may result in a number of health issues. In my opinion, I agree that high- sugar products should be sold at higher prices to lessen people ’s sugar intake. First, overconsumption of sugar -packed products is because they are cheap. For example, many fast-food restaurants offer free refills on sodas. As a result, customers oftentimes have two or three sodas at a meal, because they want to maximize their “privilege”. If these restaurants were required to implement a 20% tax on these sugary products and stop providing free refills, many customers would think it hard to order one at all, let alone have a second one. A regulation like this could be extremely effective in terms of preventing obesity among low-income people since they are heavy consumers of cheap processed sugary products. In addition, making processed high- sugar products more expensive can promote healthier eating choices. This is because if the prices of these products are increased to the point at which most people are unable to buy them regularly, they may turn to foods and drinks that are healthier and more affordable. For instance, if a can of strawberry-flavoured snacks costs three times more than the price of a box of fresh strawberries, they will opt to buy the cheaper fresh fruits to satisfy their sugar craving. Although fresh fruits also contain sugars in them, they are way healthier than manufactured ones. In conclusion, manufactured sweetened products should be made more expensive to push people to consume less sugar. For one thing, overconsumption of sugar is partly because of their low price. For another, increasing their price will result in people choosing healthier natural foods.