The only way to improve the safety on our road is to have stricter punishment for driving offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the present scenario, numerous masses drive carelessly on the roads. Some people opine that strict punishment is the only option to teach a lesson to these drivers. However, I disagree with this statement. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this issue and also provide some solutions to tackle this problem in the subsequent paragraphs in an efficacious way. In the first place, there are certain accidents that occur not because of traffic violations. To explain it further, poor road condition is considered a major reason for road casualties. For example, narrow roads and sharp curves often force even law-abiding drivers makes mistakes. Therefore, it should be noted that drivers alone cannot be blamed for such mishaps and giving them stricter punishments in these cases is no solution. A more effective strategy by the government would be to straighten accident prone curves and widen narrow roads. Larger number of road signs and proper traffic signals can also be effective in reducing accidents on roads. Furthermore, poor climate condition can be a major cause of accidents. For instance, poor visibility due to dense mist and rain, slippery roads on account of snowfall cause make driving difficult and cause serious accidents in many countries. Stricter punishment for drivers is a futile exercise in handling such problems. Modern technological innovations should be used to deal with such emergency situations. On the other hand, reckless driving, speeding and breach of traffic rules by careless drivers have caused many accidents. Moreover, drunken and drowsy driving have also resulted serious traffic mishaps. While we admit that more stringent punishment for drivers would be an effective measure to an extent, it should not be considered the only way towards road safety. In summary, there are certain situations where drivers are not responsible for a particular accident. Hence apart from punishing drivers with heavier penalties other effective measures should also be taken.