International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A lot of countries have benefitted through global tourism, but along with that, there is a worry that it could harm the locals and the surroundings. This essay strongly agrees that the drawbacks of worldwide tourism outweigh the advantages because it results in loss of local culture and increases pollution which harms both the natives and the environment. Tourists have caused a steady decline in the cultural identity of a place. Every country has a unique and rich culture and the large-scale intermixing of people from across the globe has decreased the cultural value of a place. This is because locals are often fascinated with cultures that are different from their own. They start adapting to the social customs and practices of foreigners and this results in the loss of their own methods. For example, in Bali, English is taking precedence over native languages, so that the natives can communicate better with tourists. This is slowly causing their local language to phase out. Additionally, mass tourism has increased pollution levels significantly and this is giving way to serious health hazards. Some countries invest heavily in aerial events such as fireworks and their elaborate displays have become one of the topmost attractions of the place. To retain their attractiveness, countries continue to host such events year after year. Not only does this lead to poor air quality, but is also known to cause various lung and respiratory diseases. For instance, in China, years and years of fireworks have resulted in smog and inflammatory diseases among their people. In conclusion, this essay agrees with the opinion that international tourism is harmful rather than beneficial because it has brought down the local culture and adversely affected the environment and its people.