Some people think that governments should invest more in public services instead of wasting money on arts such as music and paintings. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give you opinion.

In a democratic system elected people representatives forms the government to decide on a country’s progress in various sectors. Some people believe that the authority should be investing more money on services to public, including infrastructure development rather than squandering money in the field of arts. This essay will argue, why, funding on creative activity is as important as modernisation. On the one hand, laying out of money for public services will make peoples life more convenient to a large extend. Because, they use these resources which include road, rail and air transport system on a regular basis for commuting purposes. Furthermore, a well maintained facilities will have a direct and collective impact on the economic success of a country. For instance, as per the economic times report, the construction time for a multi-storied building in a developed country takes only one third of a time compared to a third world developing nation with poor infrastructure. These facts clearly prove how critical public service is for a government. On the other hand, allocation of funds in the field of art is also so crucial in our life for its sheer entertainment value. Since time immemorial, creativity has been part of countries culture and tradition. Moreover, it is not only about preserving our identity but also providing the much needed calming and relaxing effect for the working class, who works under tremendous pressure in this modern competent world. Development in the field of music therapy by leaps and bounds is a perfect example for this. Hence, it can be ascertained that ignoring any art form would have a damaging effect particularly on the working class. To conclude, I am of the opinion that, when the government makes the budget allocation, they should not disregard art like music and paintings in the name of public services as it will have an off balancing outcome on the psyche and physique of the people who are the backbone of country’s development activities.