All parents want the best opportunities for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children skills but others think having a range of subjects is better for children's future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Undoubtedly, a child's future is one of the most important concerns of his or her parents. In recent times, though, there has been a debate on what is most relevant in securing the future of children. While some are of the opinion that children should be taught skills, others maintain that exposing a child to a broad range of topics is sufficient. From my perspective, the age of a child should be deciding factor on the specific knowledge such child should gain. On one hand, teaching children skills are important to expose them to practical experiences. Basically, every endeavour requires a particular skill set to succeed in it. For this reason, some people believe it is very crucial for children to learn skills. On the other hand, when kids are taught a range of subjects, their inner mind is expanded. In other words, they grow to become adults with a high degree of exposure that ensures they can cope in different situations. As such, other people claim that children who gain diverse knowledge are able to recognise opportunities in any circumstance and utilise them. Despite the arguments of both schools of thought, I am of the opinion that children should be provided with the knowledge of both skills and varying subjects according to their age. At a younger age, a child needs to have an idea of exhaustive phenomena to enable him or her make a choice in the future. Therefore, allowing children to study different subjects is important when they are younger. Consequently, when children grow older, it becomes pertinent to pursue the learning of skills crucial to the success of their chosen field or undertaking. In conclusion, rather than limiting the complete education of a child by concentrating on a perspective, children's education should be made to include relevant knowledge either of skills or a variety of subjects as they age.